Dr Ruchi Gupta

Dr Ruchi Gupta is a Senior Lecturer and Birmingham Healthcare Technologies Fellow at the University of Birmingham since 2017. Between 2014 and 2016, she was a Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry at University of Hull. Dr Gupta’s research as a Postdoctoral Research Associate and later as a Royal Academy of Engineering (RAEng) Enterprise Fellow at University of Manchester (UK) developed hydrogel-based optical waveguide sensors, studied mechanisms of light propagation in hydrogels, as well as investigated their applications in healthcare and drug discovery.

Her PhD at the University of Manchester (UK) was funded by Syngenta and focused on developing electroseparation methods for sample preparation and analysis of self-digesting bagasse reliably to produce biofuels from waste (rather than food crops). Dr Gupta attended Nanyang Technological University, Singapore for her undergraduate studies followed by an MASc at McMaster University (Canada) where she developed the basic components of generic and programmable microfluidics. This project bridged chemical, biological and computational sciences.

Area of Expertise

Ruchi’s expertise lies in mesoporous hydrogels, photofunctionalisable hydrogels, thin and thick hydrogel film deposition, optical sensing modalities, electrokinetic sample transport/ pre-concentration, nano-/micro-fabrication, (droplet) microfluidics, bioassays and instrumentation. She also has an interest in organic electronics and optical components.


2018 – EPSRC GCRF PhD studentship
2017 – EPSRC NPIF PhD studentship
2017 – BRIDGE Seed Fund
2016 – EPSRC Healthcare Technologies Challenge Award
2016 – RSC Tom West Fellowship
2013 – RAEng. Enterprise Fellowship
2013 – Mini Proof-of-Principle Fund
2012 – Investing in Success Fund

Prizes and Awards

2021 – Joseph Black Award
2021 – Featured in SPIE Women in Optics planner
2017 – Annual Review Award (University of Birmingham)
2016 – Staff Excellence Award (University of Hull)
2010 – Virgin Media Pioneer Award
2010 – Venture Further (3rd prize)
2010 – Runner-up of BioPharm 2020: Bio Business Plan Competition
2010 – EMERGE – Social Innovation Ideas Competition
2009 – Venture Out
2009 – SFI Young Researcher Travel award
2009 – RSC Electroseparations prize
2007 – Radisav Stevanoic Book prize
2007 – First runner-up of the Brian L. Barge Award of Excellence in Microsystems Integration
2005 – IEEE Reliability/CPMT/ED Chapter (Singapore) book prize
2001 – SIA-NOL scholarship

Membership of Professional Societies and Services

2021 – Guest Editor, Gels (special issue on Hydrogel Based Sensors for Biomedical Applications)
October 2020 to September 2024 – Elected Member, IOP Instrument Science and Technology Group
October 2020 to September 2024 – Ordinary Member, IOP West Midlands Committee
July 2020 to July 2023 – Appointed Member of RSC’s Analytical Division Council
April 2020 to June 2023 – Associate Editor of RSC Advances
2020 to Present – Member of SPIE
2019 – Technical Reviewer, Daphne Jackson Trust
2019 to Present – Reviewer of RSC Journals
2019 to Present – Reviewer of IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, Journal of Biophotonics, Trends in Analytical Chemistry
2018 – EPSRC UKRI Innovation Fellowship Interview Panel
2018 – Organizing committee of EuroBIC14
2017 to Present – Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA)
2016, 2×2017 – Member of EPSRC Prioritization Panel Meetings
2016 to Present – Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry (MRSC)
2016 to Present – Permanent steering committee member of Europtrode
2016 to Present – Member of EPSRC peer review college
2013 – Associate Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (AFHEA)
2013 – Member of 50 Under 30 Initiative by Council for Industry and Higher Education (CIHE)
2009-2015 – Associate Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry (AMRSC)